About the Event

P3•EDU is an invitation only event bringing together a select group of university leaders and a handful of private company CEOs to network and share best practices around public-private partnerships in higher education. For more information, please contact the host at info@p3edu.com.

P3•EDU 2019 Starts in:


About George Mason University

George Mason University is Virginia’s largest public research university. Located near Washington, D.C., Mason enrolls 37,000 students from 130 countries and all 50 states. Mason has grown rapidly over the past half-century and is recognized for its innovation and entrepreneurship, remarkable diversity and commitment to accessibility. Learn more at www.gmu.edu

Past Speakers

Tim Kaine

United States Senator, Commonwealth of Virginia

Mark Becker

President, Georgia State University

Ángel Cabrera

President, George Mason University

Millie Garcia

President, American Association of State Colleges and Universities

Belle Wheelan

President, Southern Association of Colleges & Schools Commission on Colleges

Rafael Bras

Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Georgia Institute of Technology

Sylvia Burwell

President, American University; former United States Secretary of Health and Human Services

Ted Mitchell

President, American Council on Education; former Under Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education

Javier Miyares

President, University of Maryland University College

Ruth Watkins

President, University of Utah

Goldie Blumenstyk

Senior Writer, The Chronicle of Higher Education

Steve Fireng

CEO, Keypath Education

William Hansen

President & CEO, Strada Education Network

Ritu Kalra

Managing Director, Head of Western Region & Higher Education Public Sector & Infrastructure Finance, Goldman Sachs & Co.

Jay Vaughan

Partner & Chair of the Education Practice, Cooley LLP

Katie Blot

COO, Vemo Education

Dennis Gephardt

Vice President, Senior Credit Officer, Moody’s Investors Service

Brian Napack

President & CEO, Wiley

Brad Noyes

Executive Vice President, Brailsford & Dunlavey

Jamie Wilhelm

Executive Vice President, American Campus Communities

Michael Amiridis

Chancellor, University of Illinois Chicago

Ryan Craig

Managing Director, University Ventures

John Katzman

CEO, Noodle Partners

Michelle Marks

Vice President for Academic Innovation & New Ventures, George Mason University

Pete Wheelan

CEO, InsideTrack

Anant Agarwal

CEO, edX

Janine Davidson

President, Metropolitan State University of Denver; former Under Secretary of the United States Navy

Doug Lederman

Editor, Inside Higher Ed

Chip Paucek

CEO, 2U Inc.

Rosemarie Rae

Vice Chancellor of Finance, Chief Financial Officer, University of California, Berkeley

Wes Bush

Chairman, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Brian Edelman

President, Purdue Research Foundation

Carol Kissal

Senior Vice President, Administration & Finance, George Mason University

Rick Miranda

Provost & Executive Vice President, Colorado State University

S. David Wu

Provost & Executive Vice President, George Mason University

Past Attendees

Please join executive leaders from the following colleges and universities:


Unless otherwise noted, all activities shall take place at:

George Mason University  |  Founders Hall  |  3351 Fairfax Drive  |  Arlington, VA

Day 1

Monday, April 13

5:30 – 7:30 pm
Welcome reception 

Top of The Hay
The Hay-Adams
800 16th Street NW
Washington, DC

Day 2

Tuesday, April 14

7:45 am
Registration; Continental breakfast

8:30 am
Opening remarks; Morning sessions

12 pm

1 pm
Afternoon sessions

4:50 pm

Day 3

Wednesday, April 15

8 am
Continental breakfast

8:30 am
Keynote address; Morning sessions

12 pm
Closing remarks; Lunch

Day 4

Program Highlights

Peer universities share their experience in partnering with private companies across a range of areas, including:

  • Enabling the design and growth of online degree programs
  • International student recruitment and pathways programs
  • Student retention and success coaching
  • Predictive analytics for institutional decision making
  • Innovative student housing and campus infrastructure projects

Accreditors and rating agencies provide their perspective on the academic and financial risks involved with public-private partnerships

Leading company CEOs and venture capitalists offer their views on partnering with colleges and universities

Founders Hall
3351 Fairfax Drive
Arlington, VA 22201